English-Khmer Chemistry Dictionary for iOS

As I told you before, I would publish iOS version of the dictionary if people keep editing the wiki. After I released PC version, I checked the wiki. Guess how many people edited the wiki? Let me give you a hint, it is less than 1🙂 I realized that, this wiki won’t mature in near future. So I decided take one more thing off my bucket list.
Let’s talk about the dictionary. Unfortunately, I didn’t/don’t know much about Objective-C and iPhone programming. I read lots of code, installed Yosemite to my old HP PC(hint:hackintosh) and start learning it. After a month, and banging my head more than I can remember, I made something that worked. You should have seen me when it worked. Haha silly me. Anyway, I hope it also works for you. It is a universal app that should work both on iPhone and iPad which has iOS 7 or above. I tested on iPhone 5s and iPad Air and it worked. Since I don’t have a developer account, you need a jailbroken device to install this.

  1. First of all, jailbreak your device.
  2. Open Cydia and install Apple File Conduit “2”. Reboot.
  3. Open Cydia and add http://cydia.angelxwind.net repo and install AppySync Unified v5.2-1 or above
  4. Finally, grab Dictionary.ipa file and install with iFunBox.

Edit:

I got a developer account and released the dictionary as free on App Store.

https://itunes.apple.com/app/english-khmer-chemistry-dictionary/id1023664766?mt=8

Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

